Weather Forecast


Bemidji State Beavers, Falcons skate to 3-3 tie

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Three periods and overtime weren’t enough to decide the nonconference series opener between the Bemidji State men’s hockey team and Air Force, as the teams skated to a 3-3 tie at the U.S. Air Force Academy Cadet Arena in Colorado Springs, Colo., on Saturday, Dec. 29.

The tie moves Bemidji State to 8-8-3 overall and Air Force to 9-7-1.

Neither team could muster more than a one-goal lead in the contest, with each scoring a goal in every period until the extra frame.

Just past the midway point of the first period, BSU sophomore Aaron Miller opened the scoring with an unassisted tally, but the Falcons were quick to answer less than four minutes later when Joe Tyran tied the game at 1-all, assisted by Pierce Pluemer and Erich Jaeger.

The teams traded goals again in the middle period, Walker Summer scoring for Air Force at the 3:58 mark and Justin Baudry tying it back up with 1:15 left in the frame.

Evan Giesler and Kyle Haak assisted the Sommer goal, while Alex Adams and Tyler Kirkup picked up helpers on Baudry’s.

In the third, Kieran Durgan secured the Falcons’ second lead of the game 4 minutes, 9 seconds in, but Owen Sillinger took a pass from Charlie Combs and tied the game for the third time with 4:02 left in regulation.

Tommy Muck appeared to have scored the game winning goal with his first ever goal as a Beaver, but the call was overturned due to offsides after a lengthy official review.

Late in the overtime, Dillon Eichstadt took a slashing penalty, forcing the Beaver to kill the penalty and finalize the game at a 3-3 tie. The Falcons outshot the Beavers 6-0 in the overtime.

Bemidji State sophomore goalie Henry Johnson stopped 30 of the Falcons’ 33 shots, while Billy Christopoulos made 29 saves on 32 BSU shots.

The teams will look to decide the series winner during today’s finale at 6 p.m. back at AFA Cadet Arena.

Bemidji State 3, Air Force 3

First Period -- 1, BSU, Miller (Unassisted) 10:24; 2, AF, Tyran (Pluemer) 14:01.

Second Period -- 3, AF (power play), Sommer (Giesler, Haak) 3:58; 4, BSU, Baudry (Adams, Krikup) 18:45.
Third Period -- 5, AF, Durgan (Koch) 4:09; 6, BSU, Sillinger (Combs) 15:58.
Overtime -- No Scoring.