Larson and Kroon capture Speedway wins

WORTHINGTON -- Jim Larson stayed out in front of a rather turbulent Worthington Glass USRA Stock Car feature Saturday to earn his first Nobles County Speedway win of 2019. Things got a little raucous as at least a couple of drivers seemed to be looking for a dance partner with whom to step into the “squared circle” instead of concentrating on the oval.

Darrin Korthals’ car took a few punches but his pit crew kept him on the lead lap. Korthals started on the pole and his third place finish was important because it allowed him to bypass Luke Sathoff atop the point standings.

Chad Lonneman ran very strong in placing second. Cautions took out Roger Verdoorn and Thomas Kracht. Trent Schroeder was disqualified. With Sathoff absent, Korthals suddenly owns a nice 76-point cushion over Rich Gregoire.

Brian Kroon of Rock Rapids, Iowa, led all 10 laps from the pole in the Sybesma Graphics NCS Sportsman feature. It was Kroon’s first race at Nobles County Speedway this season. He was followed across the line by Roger DeBoer and Rick Egan.

Three feature winners were disqualified after going through post-race tech inspections.


Altenburg Construction and Slat Replacement Professionals USRA B-Modified winner Kole Nordquist was found to have a verboten shock in his car. A disqualification handed the win to Dave Kennedy who led a good portion of the race.

Tyler Tesch was officially scored second. He started sixth. Nick Peters wound up third. Peters has the points lead over Darin Veen by 24.

It looked like Dustin Gulbrandson’s perfect record at Nobles County Speedway ended in the DeRyuter Pallets USRA Hobby Stocks. While Tyler Schlumbohm was dominating the field, Gulbrandson was using every tool in the box in trying to pass Justin Luinenburg.

A green/white/checker finish saw Gulbrandson finally overtake Luinenburg coming out of turn four just before the checkered flag. Then, Schlumbohm was disqualified after illegal bushings were found in the A-frame of his car and, Gulbrandson was credited with his fourth win in as many starts at NCS.

Luinenburg and Tyler Pospisil were scored second and third. Points leader Dan Strandberg raced from 17th to fifth.

Too much camber resulted in the disqualification of Roberto Esqueda in the Afterhour Graphics, Tees & More USRA Tuner division. It was cartwheels after that as Bubba Brown celebrated in victory lane. Murray County Speedway Pickup champion Neil Forsberg placed second ahead of Jason Bolte.

What To Read Next
The Bluejay's rotation of seven players kept up with the larger roster of the Riverland Blue Devils. The Minnesota West mens' team missed a 3-point shot in the final seconds to force overtime.
The Minnesota West women's basketball team held together in the second half to protect a lead and defeat a strong Riverland team, 77-70, in Worthington on Wednesday
The Tuesday, Jan. 31, game between Sioux Falls Lincoln and Watertown was forced to move after junior JT Rock broke the rim with a powerful two-handed dunk. Rock is committed to play at Iowa State.
Adrian/Ellsworth junior Jaren Winselman is a state tournament-level wrestler hoping to get back this year to the big event