Weather Forecast


Motorsports: Kuchta races to Mark Lloyd Memorial race win

WORTHINGTON --  Nobles County Speedway had the honor of hosting the Mark Lloyd Memorial race, previously rained out at Park Jefferson Speedway, during DeRuyter Pallets Night on Saturday.  More than $1,100 in bonus money was dispersed to the 13 drivers who competed in the T&R Contracting Late Model Street Stocks Touring Series special.

Front row starter Brett Larsen quickly darted to the lead of the 18-lap feature.  P4 starter Dave Kuchta grabbed the lead before the second lap was complete. Third row starter Cory Yeigh quickly went to the cushion to challenge for the lead.  He raced side-by-side with Kuchta at times, but Kuchta was able to maintain the lead.

Helping matters further, Tim Dann came from seventh to race side-by-side with Yeigh in a battle for second.  That allowed Kuchta to extend his lead and eventually win one of the series’ most prestigious events of the season.  Yeigh edged out Dann for second while Shaun Taylor was fourth.

The Late Model Street Stocks return to NCS for the last of their four scheduled events on August 25.

 Luke Sathoff was going for his seventh feature win in the Worthington Glass USRA Stock Cars.  He was setting the pace on the top side while being chased by Jeff Larson. However, Sathoff spun in turns three and four, handing the lead to Larson.  

Jon DeBoer made it close at the end, even giving Larson a little tap coming out of turn four, but Larson beat him to the finish to earn his first win.  Sathoff settled for fifth after his caution. The Jackson, Minn., driver leads DeBoer by 83 points in the standings.

 J.T. Wasmund made his first visit to NCS this season and he showed up with a lot of confidence.  Explaining that his team learned a lot from their visits in 2017, Wasmund said that his car was set up to prevent it from digging into the track as it twisted through the corners.  Wasmund put the new setup on display by sweeping the Fulda Auto Service USRA B-Modifieds portion of the night. He was smooth all the way around the three-eighths mile, even driving away from points leader Justin Luinenburg who crossed second ahead of Dave Kennedy.

 Luinenburg bettered his second place finish in the B-Mods by winning the DeRuyter Pallets USRA Hobby Stock feature – his second of 2018.  Malik Sampson came from fourth to get by Luinenburg and Tyler Pospisil early.

A late restart saw Luinenburg jump to the outside and motor past Sampson en route to the checkered flag.  Tom Kracht followed Sampson for a top three. Luinenburg, second in the points, gained on Dustin Gulbrandson.

The point differential between the two drivers is 37 with three weeks remaining in the season.

 Zack Nelson stormed to his first Sullivan Concrete Micro Sprints win after starting on the pole.  He had a healthy lead over Chris Shoenrock when the race was checkered.

 Jaeden Strandberg also ran with the pole to his third Sybesma Graphics Sportsman win.  He beat fellow rookie Tyler Bradley to the finish. The two drivers have swapped wins over the last four weeks.

 Once clearing fellow front row starter Scott Espey, Kent Miller flew to the Afterhour Graphics, Tees and More USRA Tuners win with ease.  Miller’s win was his second. However, Espey has a mountainous lead of 263 points over Dan Jensen in the standings.

 The Ground Round sponsors races on Saturday.  Hot laps start at 7 p.m. and racing follows. The Avalon School of Cosmetology Modifieds return to action as they rotate in to replace the Micro Sprints.  Jim Richert leads Jason Fisher by just 6 points in the Mods.

For more information visit or see NCS’s Facebook page.