Nobles County Speedway: Strandberg unbeaten through first three nights at NCS

by Steve Zwemke Courtesy WORTHINGTON -- Hometown Hobby Stock driver Dan Strandberg is a perfect three-for-three after Saturday night's Schwalbach Plumbing & Heating USRA Hobby Stock win at Nobles County Speedway. ...

Hobby stock winner Dan Strandberg

by Steve Zwemke


WORTHINGTON --  Hometown Hobby Stock driver Dan Strandberg is a perfect three-for-three after Saturday night’s Schwalbach Plumbing & Heating USRA Hobby Stock win at Nobles County Speedway.  Strandberg cleared Malik Sampson on the second lap of the 15 lap feature and led the rest of the way.  Sampson remained close and made Strandberg work hard for the win.  In victory lane, Strandberg, who started eighth, commented that his three wins to start the season at Nobles County Speedway is his best start to a season in close to a decade.  Nick Brady also made things interesting.  In his first appearance of the season at NCS, Brady came from 10th to fifth before a caution.  The restart saw him quickly pass his way up to third where he eventually finished.  Hard charger Joel Norris finished fourth after starting 14th.

  The Worthington Glass USRA Stock Car feature turned out to be the most exciting race of the night – with only six cars in the field.  Roger Verdoorn led most of the race after an early battle with fellow front row starter Gary Mattison.  Verdoorn hugged the bottom of the track while co-points leader Colby Klaassen tried to force his car even lower.  With their fight for the bottom happening, Luke Sathoff was making up ground on the cushion.  Sathoff stayed true to the high side to pass both drivers and then, once clear, took their line away en route to his first win of the season and a share of the points lead.

  Jayden Larson’s De Ruyter Pallets USRA B-Modified win was popular among the fans in attendance at NCS.  The young driver out of Mankato, Minnesota, led every lap of the 15 lap feature.  The driver was also excited to put opening week mechanical issues behind him in scoring his first win.  He had a big lead two weeks prior before bowing late in the race.  The former NCS Mini-Mod racer received loud applause when he got out of his car.  Dave Kennedy had a solid run in finishing second.  He had to pass Cullen De Ruyter to get to that spot.  Nick Barger came back from a spin on a restart, which put him to the rear of the field, to place third. In the standings De Ruyter leads Andrew Ahlers by 22 points.


  Andy Wieczorek dominated the Sybesma Graphics Sportsman feature for the second straight week.  Marni DeBoer was his closest challenger while Roger DeBoer finished third.  Wieczorek was thankful and even awed by how his car has been hooked up at BCS early in the season.

  Sport Compacts were invited to race for the first time this season in hopes that their class can become a full-time fixture in Worthington.  A supportive field of seven cars were entered.  After passing Jordan Ahlers on lap two, Dylan Schreier’s fast car carried him to victory lane.  The Hadley, Minnesota, driver started from the pole.  Scott Espey finished second ahead of Cory Peters on Marthaler Automotive Night.

  Pepsi sponsors a full night of racing at NCS on Saturday, June 17.  Watch for additional information on Sport Compacts by logging onto or by checking Nobles County Speedway’s Facebook page.



June 10, 2017


  A Feature: 1. Luke Sathoff (Jackson, MN), 2. Roger Verdoorn (Sibley, IA), 3. Colby Klaassen (Little Rock, IA), 4. Gary Mattison (Lamberton, MN), 5. Jon DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), 6. Rich Gregoire (Russell, MN)


  Heat Winner: Roger Verdoorn


  A Feature: 1. Jayden Larson (Mankato, MN), 2. Dave Kennedy (Sioux Falls, SD), 3. Nick Barger (Madison, SD), 4. Cullen De Ruyter (Ruthton, MN), 5. Andrew Ahlers (Baltic, SD), 6. Curt Ahlers (Flandreau, SD), 7. Chris Moore (Madison, SD), 8. Cody Mayo (Sioux Falls, SD)

  Heat Winner: Jayden Larson


  A Feature: 1. Dan Strandberg (Worthington, MN), 2. Malik Sampson (Worthington, MN), 3. Nick Brady (Sioux Falls, SD), 4. Joel Norris (Sioux Falls, SD), 5. Nick Schilling (Sanborn, IA), 6. Keeran Sampson (Worthington, MN), 7. Scott Spilde (Cresco, IA), 8. Josh Bradley (Harrisburg, SD), 9. Jason Bradley (Sioux Falls, SD), 10. Travis Christensen (Sioux Falls, SD), 11. Silas Top (Hardwick, MN), DNF: John Ross (Worthington, MN), Corey Gronewald (Worthington, MN), Nick Janssen (Sioux Falls, SD)

  Heat Winners: Corey Gronewald, Dan Strandberg



  A Feature: 1. Andy Wieczorek (Sioux Falls, SD), 2. Marni DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), 3. Roger DeBoer (Rock Rapids, IA), 4. Scotty DeJong (Rock Rapids, IA), 5. Doyle Logan (Primghar, IA)

  Heat Winner: Andy Wieczorek


  A Feature: 1. Dylan Schreier (Hadley, MN), 2. Scott Espey (Alpha, MN), 3. Cory Peters (Spencer, IA), 4. Joshua Uhl (Luverne, MN), 5. Ryan Westman (Odin, MN), 6. Robert Pottratz (Lynd, MN), DNF: Jordan Ahlers (Slayton, MN)

  Heat Winner: Ryan Westman

What To Read Next
The Sibley-Ocheyedan Generals are looking to make great things happen this basketball season
Thursday night high school sports roundup:
Better scores on balance beam leads to success
The Bluejay's rotation of seven players kept up with the larger roster of the Riverland Blue Devils. The Minnesota West mens' team missed a 3-point shot in the final seconds to force overtime.