Weather Forecast


Sub-Section track and field: Area athletes advance to next stage

LUVERNE -- The first steps toward a state championship were taken on Thursday as the sub-section track and field meets were contested.

In Section 3A, the East sub-section was at Redwood Falls, while the Southwest sub-section was in Luverne.

In each sub-section meet, the top four in every event qualify for next week’s section meet. Plus, the next four fastest times will advance as “wild cards”. The wild card entries can come from any of the sub sections.

The section final will be at Montevideo on May 31.

In the Southwest in Luverne, the Cardinal girls had a strong showing, winning the team event. The Southwest Christian boys had the top team score.

Sierra Schmuck had a solid night for the LHS girls. She won the 200 meter dash in 26.97 seconds. She teamed with Gracie Zewiske, Sydney Biever and Ivy Hudson to win the 4x100 relay in 51.07. That same group won the 4x200 relay in 1:48.61.

Luverne’s Brooklynn VerSteeg was the 400 champion in 1:00.27. She joined Autumn Nath, Jadyn Anderson and Regan Feit to win the 4x400. The group of Feit, Anderson, Tenley Nelson and VerSteeg won the 4x800 in 9:50.81. Nelson won the 3200 in 11:33.71. Feit was the winner in the 300 hurdles in 50.25.

Hills-Beaver Creek’s Kourtney Rozeboom won the shot put (39-11) and the discus (112).

Pipestone Area’s Michelle Neece won the 100 in 12.96. She also took the title in the 100 hurdles in 14.93. And, to cap it off, she finished first in the long jump (17-1.25).

A pair of Southwest Christian runners took the 800 and the 1600. Anika Brands won the 800 in 2:29.16, while Savannah Schultz won the 1600 in 5:39.09. Luverne’s Mackenzie Petersen won the high jump, while SWC’s Kaitlyn Schuur won the pole vault. Luverne’s Mallory Thorson was the triple jump winner.

On the boys side, Pipestone Area had a pair of athletes take home multiple titles.

Carter Nesvold won the 100 (11.40), the 200 (22.39) and the 400 (50.53).

Tyl Woelber continued his dominance this spring as well. He won the 300 hurdles (40.37), the high jump (6-3), the long jump (21-3.5) and the triple jump (43-9).

SWC’s Avery Pater was the 800 winner in 2:03.87. He teamed with Parker Kooima, Jonathan Eisma and Carl Haag to take the 4x400 relay. The same team also won the 4x800 in 8:32.73.

Luverne’s Dalton DeSollar won the 1600 in 4:52.66, while Murray County Central’s Maverick Beckmann took the 3200 in 11:01.28.

MCC’s Aaron Johnson won the 110 hurdles in 16.09.

The Ellsworth 4x100 team of Sean Boltjes, Noah Kruse, Cole Boltjes and Kade Boltjes won in 45.02.

Luverne’s Jedidiah Dooyema won the pole vault (12-9), while Adrian’s Scot Edwards took the shot (42-11) and Luverne’s Matthew Ziegler won the discus (128-2).

For complete results, see