Tuesday prep roundup: WHS boys track and field win Big South Conference Large School Championship

Section 3A, 3AA softball tournament results. Worthington to play top seeded Mankato East in Section 2AAA softball tournament Thursday.

Worthington boys track and field pose with the Big South Conference Large School Championship plaque bottom.
Submitted by Cory Smidt

Tuesday sports roundup:

Track and Field

Big South Championship

MARSHALL — The Worthington Trojans boys track and field team scored 166.5 points en route to a back-to-back Big South Conference Large School Championship at the campus of Southwest Minnesota State University Tuesday.

Abagotte Opiew set a new school record with his triple jump performance of 46 feet and six inches. The previous record holder was Abagotte Opiew. Abagotte was second in the 110 meter hurdles and third in the 200 meter dash.


Twin brother Marenono Opiew was second in the event. Marenono set a personal record in his long jump victory with 21 feet 8.5 inches. Marenono was first in the 300 meter hurdles and third in the 110 hurdles.

Charlie Brands was first in the high jump for WHS and set his own personal record with a leap of 6 feet 3 inches.

Mikele Walu was sixth in the 1600 meter run and third in the high jump. Walu ran with Fanuel Wolday, Filmon Wolday and Ofbeka Morke for a first place finish in the 4x800 relay.

Fanuel Wolday finished first — by over a minute — in the 3200 meter run.

Ofbeka Morke and Isaac Kinser finished second and third in the 800 meter run.

Jacari Swinea finished fourth in the 100, fifth in the 200 and third in the 400. Swinea ran with Walu, Filmon Wolday and Marenono Opiew in the 4x400 meter relay. The Trojans took first place.

Adan Hinojosa was third in the discus. Anthony Linder was sixth in shot put.

Cassie Schulz was seventh in the 100 meter dash for the Trojans girls track and field team. Worthington was sixth in the girls competition with 37 points.


Grace Bates was fifth in the 300 meter hurdles. Aria Larson was fifth in the discus. Cassidy Madison placed fourth in the pole vault. Madi Singler was fourth in the long jump.

The Trojans track and field teams will be competing at a home section meet next week on Wednesday, May 31 and Friday, June 2.


BEA 8, Worthington 7

BLUE EARTH — The Worthington Trojans collected 14 hits, but lost after allowing two runs in the bottom of the seventh to Big South Conference opponent Blue Earth Area.

Tucker Brandner continued his hot streak at the plate with a three hit performance. Mathias Noble reached base on all four plate appearances. He scored three runs for WHS.

Manny Rodriguez had two hits and two RBIs.

Max Ostrem had two hits and scored two runs.


The Trojans offense was balanced and consistent. They scored a run in each inning — including two runs in the third.

Tucker Brandner pitched four and one-third innings. He allowed 11 hits — including a home run. He struck out six, walked six and gave up six earned runs.

Cooper McCoy pitched the final two innings in relief. He allowed three earned runs.

Colton Hubly had a solo home run for Blue Earth Area. Parker Meyers had two hits and scored three runs. Abram Kokos had four hits and two RBIs.

BEA pitched seven different pitchers one inning each.

Worthington will await its seeding for the upcoming Section 2AAA baseball tournament.

Worthington 112 111 1 – 8 14 0

BEA 140 011 2 – 9 15 0


MCC 5, T-M-B 3

SLAYTON — Murray County Central scored four runs in the bottom of the third inning in a 5-3 victory over Tracy-Milroy-Balaton.

Abe Paulzine pitched five strong innings for the Rebels and helped his own cause at the plate with two doubles and two RBIs.

Christian Tentinger scored two runs and had two hits. Carter Benda, Derek Kluis, Connor DeGreeff, Dylan Kluis and Aidan Dierks slashed a hit for MCC.

Dylan Kluis pitched the final two frames for a six-out save.

Both teams left five runners on base.

MCC finished its regular season with an 11-2 record.

T-M-B 000 102 0 – 3 8 1


MCC 104 000 X – 5 9 1

Springfield 5, JCC 4


Section 3A Tournament

MCC 7, T-M-B 2

EDGERTON — Murray County Central hit four extra-base hits in a first round 7-2 victory over fifth seeded Tracy-Milroy-Balaton.

Thea Schneider pitched seven innings for the Rebels and struck out three. Abigale Loosbrock, Atalie Rosenbrook, Ava Deacon and Elyse Paulzine had doubles for MCC.

The Rebels scored five of their 7 runs in the second inning.

The Panthers left seven runners on base.


T-M-B 001 001 0 – 2 4 3

MCC 150 010 X – 7 10 2

E/SWC 5, MCC 0

EDGERTON — Paris Van Dyke struck out 13 for Edgerton/Southwest Minnesota Christian in a shutout victory over Murray County Central.

Van Dyke allowed just three hits and no walks, in a thrilling outing.

Alyda Vande Griend had a two-run single for the Dutchmen, as did Maddie Feikema.

Katheryn Prins, Myah Vander Maten, Ana Veldkamp, Vande Griend and Feikema scored runs for E/SWC.

Thea Schneider pitched six innings for MCC. She struck out six, and also hit a double.

Ava Deacon and Jayda Hellewell had singles.

E/SWC is scheduled to play Yellow Medicine East on Saturday in Marshall.

Other Section 3A softball results:


(2) Wabasso 15, (7) Lakeview 0

(3) R-T-R 10, (6) Adrian/Ellsworth 0

(2) Wabasso 7, (3) R-T-R 6


(1) Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 10, (8) Ortonville 0

(4) Benson 5, (5) MACCRAY 0

(1) Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 17, (4) Benson 0

(2) Lac qui Parle Valley 8, (7) Dawson-Boyd 1

(3) Yellow Medicine East 7, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 0

(3) Yellow Medicine East 3, (2) Lac qui Parle Valley 2

Section 3AA Softball


(4) Windom Area 4, (5) RCW/BOLD 2

(1) Pipestone Area 3, (4) Windom Area 1

(2) Luverne 10, (7) Redwood Valley 0

(3) JCC 16, (6) Minneota/Canby 1

(3) JCC 9, (2) Luverne 4


(1) Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta 10, (8) Montevideo 0

(5) Litchfield 13, (4) Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City 2

(1) Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta 7, (5) Litchfield 3

(2) West Central Area 12, (7) Minnewaska Area 0

(3) Dassel-Cokato 6, (6) New London-Spicer 0

(3) Dassel-Cokato 9, (2) West Central Area 3

Pipestone Area will play Dassel-Cokato on Saturday at SMSU in Marshall. Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta will play JCC at the same time and place. Windom Area will play West Central Area in the elimination bracket. Luverne will be the home team against Litchfield.

What To Read Next
Get Local